Private Information

I believe organizations should have the responsibility to report any digital security failures to the public. “It was said that the NSA knew about a “Heartbleed Bug” for at least two years and regularly used the flaw to gather critical information. The NSA left consumers exposed to one of the worst bugs to ever hit the internet, which effects two thirds of websites.”(What and When Did NSA Know About Heartbleed Bug?: Video. (n.d.). Bloomberg.com. Retrieved , from http://www.bloomberg.com/video/what-and-when-did-nsa-know-about-heartbleed-bug-CcNm~m5ZSzC9GWx4na6L2Q.html) I understand that the NSA wants to uncover information to stop criminals and terrorists, but this is a total invasion of privacy on people who did nothing wrong. For two years people were unaware that their private information was being accessed, when they should have been notified right away.

I, as a consumer, believe that I 100 percent have the right to know if my private information has been accessed. If consumers are not notified of this, information could be leaked or shared that could potentially ruin their career or reputation. If we are aware there has been a breach, we could take precaution and delete the information or try to get to the bottom of it. There is no way that people should not be alerted if private information has been accessed. However, if it was truly private information that you wanted absolutely no one to see, you should not put it on the internet in the first place. According to Mashable, if you use any of the following, it is on the “Heartbleed Hit List” and you should change your password right away : Facebook, Instagram, Pinterest, Tumblr, Gmail, Yahoo Mail, Etsy, Netflix, and Youtube. (The Heartbleed Hit List: The Passwords You Need to Change Right Now. (n.d.). Mashable. Retrieved , from http://mashable.com/2014/04/09/heartbleed-bug-websites-affected/)

I am definitely less likely to shop online now that I know how potentially vulnerable my information is and that companies may not always share when my information has been compromised. For me to change my opinion, I would need to be assured that none of my information would ever be accessed. It is private for a reason. I should not have to halt the convenience of shopping online because I am worried that my address and credit card information could be released. However, if for any reason my information had to be accessed, I wish to be alerted right away.

Leave a Reply

